Mac Console: Saving project settings as defaults for new projects

The SlingStudio Save Project as Default feature is like a template for creating new projects with a saved group of settings.

Do you often create new SlingStudio projects that use the same project settings? If so, then the SlingStudio Console Save Project as Default feature can make creating future projects a one-click process.

About the Save Project as Default feature

There are two steps to using the Save Project as Default feature:

  1. Create a project with the settings that you want;
  2. Activate the Save Project as Default feature.

The feature uses your current project settings to create a default profile that you can use for future new projects.

It's also simple to update your saved settings at any time. After you choose new project settings that you want to keep as your default for future new project files, you can update the profile via the Save Project as Default dialog box.

Along with offering a one-click way to create a new project with your preferred settings, this feature also includes these options:

  • Enable auto-switching at start: If enabled, SlingStudio Console starts up the Auto-Switch feature automatically after creating a new project file with your default settings.
  • Enable recording at start: SlingStudio Console begins recording automatically after creating a new project file with your default settings.
  • Auto-create project using default settings (at startup): A new project—using your default settings—is created when the SlingStudio unit is powered up.

What project file settings are saved in your default "profile"?

These project file settings are saved as part of a Save Project as Default profile:

  • Project settings dialog box options:
    • Video production
    • Video bit rate
    • Recording options (Program, Quad-View, Sources)
    • Storage devices
  • Audio mixer settings
  • Auto-Switch settings
  • All graphics, including images, scorecards, lower thirds, and text overlays
  • Video clips (if they are available via an SD card or USB drive)
  • Note that these settings are not saved:

  • Instant replay settings
  • Video highlight settings
  • Coach and Referee Review settings
  • Live broadcasting settings

Using the Save Project as Default feature

Let's go through the steps to use the Save Project as Default feature.

Creating a Save Project as Default setup:

  1. Open SlingStudio Console and create a new project with the settings that you want.
  2. After you have finished choosing your project settings, near the bottom of the dialog box, click Save Project as Default.
    The Save Project as Default dialog box opens.
  3. Choose the feature options that you prefer:
    1. Save Project as Default settings, UPDATE button: Click this to save your current project settings as a Save Project as Default "template" immediately. You can also click UPDATE to update an existing profile after you've made a change.
    2. To check which settings the Save Project as Default feature can work with:
  4. Click What settings can I save? to review the list.
    Note: This a read-only list showing you the settings that are saved via the Save Project as Default feature. You cannot choose which individual settings you can save.
  5. Click OK when you're done reviewing the list.
    1. Enable auto-switching at start: Start up the SlingStudio Auto-Switch feature as soon as the new project opens.
    2. Enable recording at start: Start up the SlingStudio Auto-Record feature as soon as the new project opens.
    3. Auto-create project using default settings: Select this option to have a new project created, using the default settings that you're currently saving, whenever you start up the SlingStudio unit.
  6. After you've chosen the Save Project as Default options that you want to use, click OK.
  7. Finish creating your project. Once your project is created, your Save Project as Default "profile" is created as well.

Updating your Save Project as Default profile

At any time, you can update the options you've chosen for the Save Project as Default feature. You can update your default options as you're working with the project file, or when you close it.

To update your profile as you're working with a project file:

  1. Make the changes that you want to the project file.
  2. Choose Save Project as Default from the Project menu.
    The SAVE PROJECT AS DEFAULT dialog box opens.
  3. Click UPDATE.
  4. In the dialog box that appears, confirm that you want to make the updates.
  5. Close the dialog box by clicking OK.

To update your profile when you close the project file:

  1. Choose Close Project from the Project menu.
    The CLOSE PROJECT? dialog box opens.
  2. Click SAVE DEFAULTS & CLOSE PROJECT.

The default settings are updated and the project file closes.

Note that you can also choose to save your project file without updating the defaults. You can also cancel the close file operation.

Creating a new project using your Save Project as Default profile

There are a couple of ways that you can use the Save Project as Default profile that you've saved.

Manually:

  1. Create a new project.
  2. In the new project dialog box, click Default Project.
    SlingStudio creates a new project file with the Save Project as Default options that you have chosen.

Automatically:

  • In SAVE PROJECT AS DEFAULT settings, click to select Auto-create project using default settings.
    A new project file, with your default settings, is created whenever the SlingStudio unit is started.